Recipe Review

This blog has seen better days. It’s been on the back burner since life has been super busy. I’m teaching two grade levels this year, which means double the work. I also have an increase in the number of students, which again means more work! Claire is 21 months today, so if you have children you know how busy I’ve been!

From time to time I feel the urge to cook something new and Pinterest becomes my best friend. The following two recipes are just a few we’ve tried lately that will absolutely be on our dinner menus in the future!

Mississippi Pot Roast by Cozycakes Cottage

blog1

This is a crock pot recipe. Yay! Who doesn’t love a good crock pot meal? This is by far one of my favorite things I have made in the crock pot. It’s super simple. My mom made it for Sunday dinner a month or so ago and I couldn’t wait to do it myself.  Adam told me I can make this whenever I please! The extra plus is that Claire thoroughly enjoyed it too. I’m always happy when she can eat what we’re eating for dinner. The peppers cook out a lot of their heat, so don’t worry about your little one! I didn’t serve any peppers to her, just the roast and she gobbled it up. She’s also had it for left overs twice and enjoyed it just as much as the first time!

Differences:

  • I only added half a stick of butter. The recipe calls for 1 whole stick.
  • I added more peppers.
  • I did not add vegetables.
  • I served mine over rice.

Shrimp, Feta, and Fresh Herbs Mac and Cheese by Annie Eats

blog2

This one required more work, but it was completely worth it. Adam could eat seafood 7 days of the week. So from time to time I try to get out of the habit of always wanting to cook chicken and venture into shrimp. This was a yummy comfort food meal to say the least! Again this was another dinner that Claire also enjoyed…although she did pick the shrimp out.

Differences:

  • I cooked half of this recipe. However, I only decreased the shrimp amount by a quarter.
  • I couldn’t get my hands on Grueyere cheese to shred, so I went with Swiss.

I hope you’ll try these out!

Leave a Reply

