Recipe Review

This week I made 4 new recipes that I found through Pinterest, my newest BFF. Here’s what I made and the thoughts we had on each meal.

Night 1: Penne Pasta with Sun Dried Tomato

Although this was a super easy recipe, I would not make this again. It was good in taste, but I found it to be gritty in texture. The cheese does not melt into a creamy sauce as expected. I found that I enjoyed last week’s Sun Dried Tomato Penne with Spinach and Goat Cheese from Fudge Banana Swirl A LOT better.

AR’s Thoughts: “I liked it.”

Night 2: Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Over the summer I made Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos, which are delicious and E-A-S-Y. I’ve made them a few times since then. This new recipe incorporates a lot of the same ingredients and directions. The recipe suggest that this is chicken to eat with a side dish. However, having made chicken in a crock pot before, I know that there is no way the chicken isn’t falling apart by the end of the 6 hour cook time. So, I decided to make it into tacos. I liked the cilantro in this recipe. It made these tacos different from the last. We paired our chicken taco mixture with fresh tomatoes, avocados, grated cheese, and sour cream. An amazing dinner that was ready when I walked in the door from work!

AR’s Thoughts: “That was very good. It was lime-y.”

Night 3: Easy Tomato Basil Cream Pasta

This was the first vegan recipe I’ve followed, knowing it was a vegan recipe…if that makes sense. This was also the first time I used our blender for something other than smoothies. It was a good, light pasta dish. It wasn’t heavy and I didn’t end dinner feeling extremely full. I would make this again. However, I would try to incorporate it’s instructions of how to make the tomato sauce with a previous recipe I made, Homemade Tomato Basil Cream Sauce with Fettuccine Pasta. That recipe is from Pioneer Woman. It calls for 2 cans of Hunt’s tomato sauce. Instead of buying the canned sauce, I would use Night 3’s recipe to make my own. The rest of both recipe’s instructions are pretty much the same, except for the “cream”. In the vegan recipe, you use cashews to make the sauce “creamy”. Well, I didn’t use cashews at all, I just omitted them from the recipe altogether. In PW’s recipe, she uses heavy cream. As much as I enjoyed eating a “vegan dish”, I might just have to add some cream next time!

AR’s Thoughts: “It was okay. It was very light. It was good though.”

Night 4: Shrimp Quesadillas with Tomato Avocado Salsa

YUMMY! This was a nice Friday night dinner. AR and I made these together and I was grateful for the help. It’s kind of a two person prep/cook meal…at least for the first time. The salsa was so easy to make and is incredibly fresh tasting in these quesadillas. I would make this again in a heartbeat!

P.S. If you are a Weight Watcher’s point counter…they’re only 8 points. I don’t count points, but calories. 1 quesadilla=304 calories, and you only need 1…these are filling!

AR’s Thoughts: “They were delicious. And the left over 3 AM portion I had last night was delicious too”.

4 thoughts on “Recipe Review

Leave a Reply

