Big News

My last blog post seems SO long ago. I have a good excuse though! On August 14th, we discovered I was pregnant!

After a week of feeling very sick all day, I made a doctor’s appointment to see my regular medical doctor. Saying the symptoms out loud made me think that the nurse’s first question would be “Are you pregnant?”. So we decided to purchase a home test. I figured it’d come back negative and I could answer “no” with confidence when the nurse asked. Before the 3 minute timer went off, the first test read “yes+”. Adam’s first response was “well 3 minutes isn’t up yet!”. We took the second test and low and behold…another “yes+”. We were both in shock.

The next morning I made a confirmation appointment for that very afternoon. Another yes. I went through my first round of labs at the clinic and waited for a phone call the next day. If my hCG levels were over 1,500, I could come in for an ultrasound. My hCG levels were at 97,000. That’s right, 97 THOUSAND! I asked the nurse, “Don’t you mean 9,700?”. She confirmed that 97,000 was correct, as well as the 1,500 (not 15,000). I scheduled my first ultrasound.

We found out at the ultrasound that we were 8 weeks 6 days (7 weeks 5 days when we took the home test). We also heard a fetal heart rate of 180. At that point it became real. Until seeing the baby and hearing the pitter patter of its heart beating, it really had not hit either of us. Our due date is set for late March.

Next was telling our immediate families. Adam’s parents and brother live around the corner from my doctor’s office. We told them that afternoon. That night I FaceTimed with my sister in D.C. We told my parents that weekend. Both sets of our parents were ecstatic. When I was home for Labor Day weekend, I was able to tell my brother and sister-in-law who also live in D.C. via FaceTime.

Since then we’ve been pretty quiet about it. A few close friends and some of my co-workers found out as the last four weeks passed. During that time, I’ve kept a week to week “diary” (below).

Today I am at the beginning of my 13th week. I had an appointment this afternoon. I heard the heart beat again and it was at 167. I’m into my second trimester and I’m hoping to start feeling better very soon. We started taking “belly pics” today. I thought I wasn’t really showing until I saw this photo. I guess I can’t deny it any longer. Here it is at 13 weeks 0 days:

9th Week

Baby Size: At 9 weeks the baby is the size of a green olive.

Sleep:  I am exhausted by the end of the day and can barley make it to 8 PM. I wake up usually around 3 or 4 and will be wide-awake for an hour or two. My energy throughout the day is normal.

Best moment this week: At 8 weeks 6 days, we had our first ultrasound and heard a heartbeat. Also, we were able to tell both of our parents!

Miss anything? Food. I miss the food I can’t have and the food I just can’t stomach because I’m still too queasy.

Cravings: Goldfish crackers and Jolly Ranchers

Anything making you queasy or sick: Strong smells, cooking, the site of most food.

Have you started to show yet?: Not yet. I’m down 6 pounds.

Gender prediction: Girl – I keep saying “she” and “her”

Looking forward to: My next appointment. 4 weeks in between seems very long!

10th Week

Baby Size: At 10 weeks the baby is the size of a prune or date.

Sleep: Sleeping has been better. I am still exhausted by the end of the day, so I’ve been going to bed very early, but have been able to sleep throughout the entire night.

Best moment this week: Starting to feel less nauseated. I’m still queasy nearly all day, but I don’t feel as sick.

Miss anything?  This week, not much! I’m getting use to sleeping on my back and side. I’m also getting over the fact that I can’t eat some foods!

Cravings: Potato soup and ice cream

Anything making you queasy or sick: Meat still makes me sick. I couldn’t even buy any at the grocery. I stayed clear of that entire section of the store.

Have you started to show yet?: Yes and no. More so after eating a big meal. Clothes all still fit. Still down 6 pounds.

Gender prediction: Still thinking girl, but have said less of “she” and “her” lately.

Looking forward to: Finishing up the first trimester. 2 weeks to go!

11th Week

Baby Size: At 11 weeks the baby is the size of a lime.

Sleep: About the same. Bedtime has been between 8:00 and 9:00. I only get up to use the bathroom. I can fall back asleep very easily.

Best moment this week: A good amount of days where I felt really good. No nausea or feeling of being queasy.

Miss anything?  I wanted a Coke or sweet tea once or twice. I’m trying to stay clear of all caffeine. I know if I drink any it’ll be down hill from there!

Cravings: Chocolate malts and juice

Anything making you queasy or sick: The smell of cooked food. It’s not easy to be in a restaurant or smell a lot of different scents.

Have you started to show yet?: Same as last week. A little more than before. It really depends on what I’m wearing and if I just ate or not.

Gender prediction: I had a dream we were told it was a boy this week.

Looking forward to: The 2nd Trimester!

12th Week

Baby Size: At 12 weeks the baby is the size of a plum.

Sleep:  It’s either GREAT or HORRIBLE! One night I slept 12 hours. One night I went to sleep at 8:30 and got up at 1:00. I could NOT get back to sleep. Work the next day was difficult!

Best moment this week:  More better days than bad days when it comes to not feeling good.

Miss anything?  Clear skin. I’m plagued with pregnancy acne and I’ve about had it! I can’t treat it with anything just yet, so I’m ready to be able to do something to help get rid of it.

Cravings: Toaster Strudels and Root Beer

Anything making you queasy or sick: Same as previous weeks. Strong scents. Food. I am thankful Adam went to Wal-Mart for the grocery shopping this week. I have a hard time at the grocery store.

Have you started to show yet?: Yes, but still down 6 pounds.  I blame my queasy stomach.

Gender prediction: No inklings this week.

Looking forward to: My appointment at the 13th week mark!!

 

10 thoughts on “Big News

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!! I am so beyond thrilled for you guys!!! I was wondering what was up with the lack of new posts, now I realize that you probably couldn’t think about posting anything but this big news! I can’t wait to follow your progress!! I’m also SO excited for your entire family (esp. your mom and sister)!!!!!!!!!

    • I didn’t post to much because I haven’t been able to A. Look at food (so I’ve been off Pinterst for a while, only venturing on when I feel good), B. Because I haven’t been able to cook, I’ve had no recipes to share/review!!

  2. Congratulations! We are due probably the exact same day. I just was 13 weeks yesterday, also! End of March is a good time to have a baby, so I hear! I also have a 13 month old who has no clue what is going on, but that will maybe change soon. Good luck to you, love the posts!

  3. Hey Britt, AND ADAM! Much Congratulations to the both of you and your parents. Sorry I haven’t responded sooner Adam you know how computer savy I am. It does seem to be all about the mom doesn’t it, well when the baby comes there goes the attention to mom too! LOL! Soon you will become ?’s mom or dad not Britt or Adam. BUT that’s an honor I always enjoyed and you will too I’m sure. You’re looking great! Hopefully the queezy will soon pass, it only lasted a little while for Ethan and I enjoyed being pregnant, however, I won’t tell you the story on Sarah. Let’s just hope it passes. Nevertheless it was worth every minute. SOOOOO Happy for you! ttyl

Leave a Reply

