Recipe Review

NOODLES! I love pasta. I’m a total carb fan. I know it’s not good and I really do try not to want to make every single pasta recipe I see. I like that you can prepare the sauce while the pasta cooks and everything comes together at the same time. Pasta dishes are easily ready in under 20 minutes. Some under 10!

These two pasta dishes were made over the past week (one last Wednesday night and one just about 30 minutes ago!).

Penne Rosa with Shrimp from Back To Her Roots

 This recipe grabbed me when I saw that instead of using heavy cream, this recipe called for Greek yogurt. Therefore fewer calories! This was very easy to prepare. It included some of my favorite parts of a noodle dish: mushrooms and spinach. I think next time I might even add a few sun-dried tomatoes right before wilting in the spinach to add a little bit of sweetness. Also, it calls for 1/2 cup of marinara. Well, I bought an entire can of sauce and now I’m stuck with the rest of it. In the future I would use a can of tomato sauce, some olive oil, and minced garlic to make my own marinara sauce. Overall it was very good. The addition of shrimp changed up the typical chicken in pasta feel. Adam’s a seafood freak so this was something he thoroughly enjoyed!

Simple Sesame Noodles from THE Pioneer Woman

 I looooove TPW. I have her cookbook and although this dish is not included, it is on her blog. Her blog, by the way, is one of the most organized and eye pleasing food blogs around. She includes beautiful photos of her meals and step by step pictures of how to make it. These sesame noodles were the perfect noodle dish to please my Asian take-out craving. It took only the amount of time it takes to bring water to a boil and cook the pasta. If you choose Angel Hair, that’s 4 minutes of cook time. Spaghetti noodles would only take 10-12 minutes! My only tip would be one that TPW gave herself with the sesame oil. “It’s a strong flavor, so you might start with 2, then work your way up from there.” I did two and a half Tablespoons and it was still a little too strong of a flavor. Therefore, I just added a little more soy sauce. I also added a pinch of red pepper flakes to my sauce! I would make these again very soon. I seem to always want take-out when watching The Big Bang Theory. I guess the next time I’m watching Sheldon knock “Penny, Penny, Penny” I will know how to quickly ease that craving!

For all you Pinners out there. I have a new board where I am putting all of my “Recipe Reviews”. You can find the board HERE.

I also have new boards that link to my blog for the EDUCATORSDIYers, and RECIPE MAKERS.

One thought on “Recipe Review

Leave a Reply

