Crock Pot BBQ Chicken

A few weeks ago I came across this BBQ chicken recipe from Fork In It. This week I had decided that an easy crock pot recipe sounded good and bought all of the needed ingredients. Well, the night before I pulled up the recipe to print. I ventured into the reviews and was a little disappointed. I found out that the picture posted is not at all how this turns out. It made sense that the chicken wouldn’t be whole after being in the crock pot all day. It would be shredded. Well, that was okay by me! I would make BBQ chicken sandwiches. Then I kept reading. Reviewers describe the chicken as “BBQ soup” and “too dry”. I was so disappointed. I already had everything to make this and was looking forward to it.

Then I came across this recipe from Chef in Training. Her recipe steps were about the same, and most of the ingredients matched the other recipe.

I liked (and had) some ingredients from each of the recipes and decided to concoct my own recipe!  We had my brother-in-law and his girlfriend over for dinner last night. All four of us gobbled up these BBQ chicken sandwiches. They were a HIT! There’s also a little bit of leftovers that I can’t wait to heat up for lunch one day soon!

Crock Pot BBQ Chicken

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 Chicken Breast, thawed
  • 9 oz. BBQ Sauce
  • 1/4 cup Light Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
  • 2 T Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1/2 tsp Garlic Powder
  1. In a bowl mix the bbq sauce, brown sugar, pepper flakes, worcestershire sauce, and garlic powder until all is blended
  2. Place chicken breast in the crock pot and pour the mixture over the stop
  3. Cook on low for 6-8 hours
*At about 5 hours I pulled out each chicken breast and shredded the meat before placing it back in the crock pot.
Enjoy!

For all you Pinners out there. I have a new board where I am putting all of my “Recipe Reviews”. You can find the board HERE.

I also have new boards that link to my blog for the EDUCATORSDIYers, and RECIPE MAKERS.

5 thoughts on “Crock Pot BBQ Chicken

  1. Pingback: Recipe Review | Tied Up With String

  2. I made your bbq chicken recipe tonight and it was delicious — super moist, flavorful, and ended with a nice kick! Thanks so much for sharing! I’ll definitely be making this again!

Leave a Reply

