Crawfish Étouffée

This recipe for crawfish étouffée is one my favorite meals. EVER. I use to love when my mom would make this growing up. I think the smell that comes from the first two steps is my favorite cooking smell that exist…I find myself with my head nearly in the pot as it cooks! I usually cook this when there are people coming over, but sometimes just for the two of us!  It makes a good amount and can be combined with some hot french bread for a nice Louisiana meal!

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick Unsalted Butter
  • 1 cup Onion, chopped
  • 1 cup Green Onion, chopped
  • 1 tsp Garlic, minced
  • 2 T Flour
  • 1 can Petite Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup
  • 1 1/2 cups Fish, Chicken, or Vegetable Stock/Broth
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Black Pepper
  • Dash Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 T Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 lb Peeled Crawfish Tails
  1. In a big stock pot melt butter.
  2. Sauté onion, green onions, and garlic until tender.
  3. Stir in flour and brown.
  4. Add tomatoes and brown.
  5. Whisk in soup.
  6. Blend in stock or broth and simmer for 10 minutes. *Tip: A can of broth is 2 cups, save the extra 1/2 cup incase your sauce is too thick. I’ve never had to add the 1/2 cup.
  7. Add salt, pepper, cayenne, worestershire, and crawfish. Cook on low for 15-25 minutes.
  8. Serve over rice.

Leave a Reply

