Recipe Review

Another 4 new recipes found through Pinterest. This week it was a lot of soups, some orzo, and plenty of leftovers!

Spinach Tomato Orzo Soup from Babble

This was very simple to make and required little ingredients. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would though. To me, it lacked in flavor and should have come with a disclaimer. This makes A LOT of soup. 4 quarts of liquid is 8 cups. That’s a lot! You should half some of this recipe’s ingredients. It’s entirely too much stock, too much water, and too much orzo. I would half those ingredients. I would not half the spinach and tomato. This was good when served immediately. I did not care for it left over the next day.

P.S. Use vegetable stock (I did) and it’s a vegetarian soup.

Creamy Tortellini Soup from Better Homes and Gardens

This is a crockpot recipe…YAY! for dinner being ready when you get home!  Unlike some crockpot recipes where you put everything in and don’t have to do anything else until serving, this did require a few extra step. The majority of the ingredients go in and cook for 6 hours. An hour before serving the soup, you toss in the tortellini. Right before serving you add parmesan, spinach, and evaporated milk. Again, this one is a vegetarian dish if you use vegetable broth!

Tips: I could not find the “White Sauce Mix”, so I used Cream of Mushroom Campbell’s soup. If you do this, do not add the 4 cups of water. The water is needed to go with the sauce mix. Also, Adam suggested that it would be creamier if you used heavy cream rather than evaporated milk. I suggest half evaporated milk and half heavy cream for calorie control!

This was good left over for lunch the next day. We still have leftovers in our fridge.

Oro with Chicken and Lemon from Cooking Healthy for Me

We really enjoyed this dish. Adam liked how light it tasted and I enjoyed how easy it was to put together. It also made wonderful leftovers for lunch the next day!  The only changes about the recipe’s directions that I made were dried basil instead of fresh basil and heating the tomatoes up before mixing them in. I couldn’t find fresh basil in the store this week and used what we had…I would definitely use fresh basil next time, although dried basil wasn’t bad! The recipe said to toss in the grape tomatoes before serving. Before doing so, I let them get soft in the hot pan that I took the chicken out of.

I will be making this dish again in the future!

Chicken Tortilla Soup from  Miller Musings

Another soup and another crockpot recipe. I put this one together this morning and have been smelling it simmer ALL day. It smelled so good that I couldn’t wait until dinner time. All ingredients go in the pot in the morning and simmer all day. Before serving you just add some tortilla chips, cheese, and sour cream. THIS SOUP IS AMAZING! We couldn’t get enough of it. I was so happy to have leftovers.

Tip: I used 1/2 T Chipolte Chile Powder instead of 1 T regular Chile Powder to add some spice. Whoa, was it spicy! I might reduce it to 1 tsp Chipolte Chile Powder next time!

One thought on “Recipe Review

Leave a Reply

