Sunscreen

On October 28th I went to the dermatologist for a red bump on the bridge of my nose. Thinking at first it was acne, I didn’t worry. After weeks and the “acne” didn’t go away, I made an appointment. Within seconds of looking at it, the doctor said “Basal Cell Carcinoma”. I honestly had never heard the term before. Then he said “Skin Cancer”. That, I knew. Nervous about what this meant, I was speechless. I just sat there and listened to him discuss how BCC is the most common cause of skin cancer and that it isn’t life threatening, if treated. He took a biopsy, bandaged my nose, and sent me on my way with a brochure. If my biopsy were to come back malignant, I would be recommend for a surgery called Mohs. I sent the entire evening Googling BCC and Mohs. FYI: Don’t look up information or pictures of possible diagnosis. As Adam told me, “People only post pictures online that are worth posting…worse case scenarios”.

For what seemed like the longest week of my life, I waited to hear back from the nurse about my biopsy. A week to the day, the nurse called and told me I did have BCC. Dermotologist and Plastic Surgeons in Baton Rouge were booked until March (where it was currently early November). Not wanting to wait any longer, as I was mad that I waited as long as I did to see a dermatologist, I made plans with doctors in my hometown.

Today is the eve of my surgeries. I will be operated on tomorrow to remove the “tumor” by a dermatologist. The following day I will be stitched up by a Plastic Surgeon. I will spend up to a week with stitches. This is all I know. Because we can’t tell how deep or wide the BCC is until the Mohs procedure is underway, I really don’t know much going in.

I’m grateful to have discovered this as early as I did. I’m pleased with the doctors I have chosen to take care of me. I am thankful for the help of my husband, mother, family, and friends, and coworkers who have helped me prepare for this.

I’m ready to get this over with!

I leave you with information on sunscreen. Basal Cell Carcinoma can be prevented by using sunscreen appropriately to protect yourself from the harmful sun rays. BCC is most common in people who are over 40, men, fair skinned, red or blond haired, blue eyed…all of which I am not. I am a 26 year old woman with olive skin and brown hair and eyes. BCC can happen to anyone who is not protected from the sun. So, in closing….USE SUNSCREEN.

(information from Information is Beautiful)

One thought on “Sunscreen

  1. Pingback: Post Surgery Update « Tied Up With String

Leave a Reply

